The Division of Papua in the Jayapura Mayor View – The Mayor of Jayapura, Benhur Tomi Mano, supports the division of Papua, for equity and bringing government services closer to the community.

“Like it or not and would like to reject it in any way, the division of Papua will be carried out. Surely the Indonesian House has approved it  (Toki Palu) in June 2022. Moreover, the budget has been provided by the state,” said Benhur while attending a working meeting (Raker) of the Toraja Family Association ( IKT) Papua Province, Wednesday (4/5/2022).

Benhur believes that by the division of Papua, people’s welfare can be realized.

“If there is a rejection, it is natural, this is a democratic country. However, let’s support together for the expansion of Papua for the realization of a just and advanced society,” he explained.

Previously, the DPR RI had ratified the bill for the division of Papua into 3 provinces, namely South Papua Province, which included the Anim Ha customary territories, namely Merauke, Asmat, Mappi and Boven Digoel.

Then, Central Papua Province including the Meepago customary area consisting of Nabire, Dogiyai, Paniai, Deiyai, Mimika and Intan Jaya Regencies, Puncak.

Morever, the Central Mountains Papua Province with the Lapago customary territory, namely Jayawijaya, Lanny Jaya, Tolikara, Yalimo, Yahukimo, Bintang Mountains, Nduga, Puncak Jaya Regencies.

Related posts

A Reason for the Discussion of the 3 Papua Province Draft Law Not Involving the Community yet


Ministry of PUPR Hands over Four Venues of PON XX to the Papua Provincial Government


DLH Yapen, Cleanliness, and Ardipura


Government Optimizes the Potential of Arts, Culture, and Technology in Papua for Advancing the Creative Economy


DPR has received the Southwest Papua Bill’s Surpres


The Papua Youth Creative Hub will be a Creative Space for Papuan Children

Please enter an Access Token