Ratifying Three New Provinces of Papua, Observer: Jokowi’s Commitment to Equitable Development in Indonesia

goodmorningpapua.com – President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) has officially ratified three new provinces in Papua. The provinces are South Papua Province, Central Papua Province, and Papua Mountains Province.

A Public policy observer from the National Research and Innovation Agency (BRIN), Syafuan Rozi, said the expansion, especially in the Papua region, showed President Jokowi was committed to wanting development to be evenly distributed, not only centered in Java, but throughout Indonesia.

Syafuan said that with the expansion, both development, economy and human resources (HR) will receive special attention and can be handled in a measurable and specific way.

“So, with this expansion the concentration of regional development is more measurable, a large area is divided into three, plus from one to five, right. So, with the smaller area there will be a concentration of development, there will be more specific policies for more specific budget allocations,” said Syafuan to the media, Sunday (7/8/2022).

For him, to develop an area, there must be effective connectivity as well as transportation that can connect one area to another.

“So, in my opinion, the development of these large areas should be concentrated by increasing the administrative area with the expansion. Transportation is also with an area that has many mountains, indeed for Papua it is unique, it is different from Java or Kalimantan or Sumatra in mountainous areas, “he said.

Syafuan suggested that for connectivity in Papua with the demographics of the mountainous region, a cable car could be built, not necessarily toll roads or trains, as in Java and Sumatra.

“It has to be a cable car like the one in Timika in Grasberg, just copy and paste, the development of the existing facilities in Freeport is developed in a new province,” he explained.

In addition, other connectivity plus the most likely thing in Papua is building a new airport, opening more flights to remote areas.

“In this way, transportation costs will be reduced further and the cost index can go down so that Papuans can enjoy the prices on the island of Java, one of which is building Papua by building connectivity or transportation by itself, the prices of goods will be adjusted because transportation is improved. ” he added.

As being known, the legal basis for the formation of the three provinces is contained in Law (UU) 14/2022, Law 15/2022, and Law 16/2022. Jokowi signed the three legal umbrellas on July 25, 2022.

The consideration for the ratification of the three laws is to achieve the goals and objectives of the Unitary State of the Republic of Indonesia, namely to build a just, prosperous and prosperous Indonesian society based on Pancasila and the 1945 Constitution. Therefore, it is necessary to expand the territory of the Papua Province.

“That the region division in Papua needs to notice to the aspirations of the Papuan people to accelerate equity, development, improve public services, and public welfare as well as raise the dignity of the Papuan people, especially in Merauke Regency, Boven Digoel Regency, Mappi Regency, and Asmat Regency,” the sound of the considerations of the three rules.

Related posts

Papuan and Yogya Young People Engaged for Creative Collaboration for the Nation


Knitting the Hope of Youths Selling Coffee at the Serui Fish Market


Travelling Funfair and Folk Entertainment Successfully Implemented, an Acting Regent Mappi: Thanks to the Support of All Parties


A Wondama Tribal Chief Protests the Selection Results of IPDN Candidates


Visiting Papua, 14 Young Composers Expected to Work Based on Research Results


The Enthusiasm of the Indigenous Peoples of Kayo Island Welcoming the Congress of AMAN VI

Please enter an Access Token