Profile of 3 Papua New DOB Provinces Passed into Law – The draft law (RUU) for the new autonomous region (DOB) of Papua, consisting of Central Papua, Papua Pegunungan and South Papua, was officially passed into law, Thursday (30/6).

President Joko Widodo will also appoint the acting governors of the three new provinces until a definitive governor is elected in 2024. The acting governor will be appointed no later than six months after the law is passed.

1. South Papua Province

South Papua Province comes from a number of regions in Papua, including Marauke Regency, Boven Digoel Regency, Mappi Regency, and Asmat.

The province of South Papua is bordered by a number of areas. In the north it is bordered by Nduga Regency, Yahukimo, and Pegunungan Bintang Regency; In the east, it is bordered by the State of Papua New Guinea.

Then to the south is bordered by the Arafura Sea; and in the west it is bordered by Mimika Regency and the Aru Sea. The capital city of South Papua Province in Marauke Regency.

2. Central Papua Province

Central Papua Province comes from parts of Papua Province including, Nabire Regency, Puncak Jaya, Paniai, Mimika, Puncak, Dogiyai, Intan Jaya, and Deiyai ​​Regency.

Central Papua is bordered by a number of areas. To the north, it is bordered by the districts of Waropen, Mamberamo Raya, and Teluk Cendrawasih; In the east, it is bordered by Lanny Jaya, Nduga, Tolikara, and Asmat Regencies.

Then, to the south it is bordered by the Aru Sea; and in the west it is bordered by Kaimana Regency and Teluk Wondama Regency, West Papua Province.

3. Pegunungan Papua Province

Pegunungan Papua Province also comes from a number of areas in Papua which include Jayawijaya Regency, Bintang Mountains, Yahukimo, Tolikara, Central Mamberamo, Yalimo, Lanny Jaya, and Nduga Regency.

To the north, Pegunungan Papua is bordered by the regencies of Mamberamo Raya, Sarmi, Jayapura, and Keerom regencies. In the east it is bordered by the State of Papua New Guinea;

In the south, it is bordered by Boven Digoel Regency and Asmat Regency; and in the west it is bordered by Puncak Jaya Regency, Puncak Regency, and Mimika Regency.

Capital of Pegunungan Papua Province is in Jayawijaya Regency.

Related posts

A Senator of West Papua Gets Center & Regions to Supervise Implementation of Special Autonomy Law


Behind the Touch of Health Facilities for the People of Ulir Sirau, Asmat


The Papuan Muslim Council is a Common Home to Maintain Peace in Papua


Advancing Government Science in Papua


Supporting the Peaceful Efforts Strategy for Dealing with Papua


The Bauzi Tribe in Papua Has a Forest Telephone Method, No Secrets Among Us

Please enter an Access Token