Papua and Future Leadership – Vice President Ma’ruf Amin is said to have pocketed the proposal of the Governor’s Acting [Pj] name in three new Papuan provinces from the Minister of Home Affairs, Tito Karnavian.

“Not being discussed yet in detail but indeed the Minister of Home Affairs had already reported about who would be leaders in new areas. His aspirations were already many, several figures, mentioned several names, but all were still not final,” spokesman for Vice President Masduki Baidlowi, at the Palace Jakarta Vice President, Tuesday (2/8/2022).

Masduki said that after attending a meeting on Papua led by Vice President Ma’ruf Amin and attended by the Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security Affairs (Menkopolhukam) Mahfud MD, Interior Minister Tito Karnavian, and Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati.

In Masdukiā€™s opinion, Vice President Ma’ruf was more focused on the development of infrastructure and new rules in the three new provinces of Papua. “Everything has been conveyed but there is no final because all the input,” said Masduki.

A Deputy Minister of Home Affairs (Wamendagri) John Wempi Wetipo ensured that the Acting Governor for three new provinces in Papua had been drafted by the Ministry of Home Affairs. According to Wempi, his ministry had visited three provinces to prepare for related matters.

It was known that on 30 June 2022, the Indonesian Parliament and the government had agreed on three laws of forming new provinces in Papua. The division of the province in Papua, according to the government, is the mandate of Law Number 2 of 2021 concerning Special Autonomy Papua, especially Article 76 which consists of five verses that the division must pay attention to political, administrative, law, unity, socio-cultural, human resource readiness, basic infrastructure, and economic capability.

The three provinces are the province of South Papua will be named Anim Ha with the capital city of Merauke and the scope of the Merauke Regency, Mappi Regency, Asmat Regency, and Boven Digoel Regency.

Then the Central Papua Province will be called Meepago with the Capital City of Timika and the scope of the Mimika Regency, Paniai Regency, Dogiyai Regency, Deyiai Regency, Intan Jaya Regency, and Puncak Regency.

Furthermore, Central Papua Province will be named Lapago with the capital of Wamena and the scope of Jayawijaya Regency, Puncak Jaya Regency, Lanny Jaya Regency, Central Mamberamo Regency, Nduga Regency, Tolikara Regency, Yahukimo Regency, and Yalimo Regency.

Related posts

Strategy of the Papuan Youth Innovation and Creativity Development


Millennial Generation are Encouraged to be an Agent of Change in Papua


With Collaboration, Teachers in the Asmat Papuan Tribe Can Study at UNY


Women’s Education in Papua


A Perspective of Papuan Student in the United States, Joshua Gombo: Unifying Technology and Human Being


302 Sub-Villages Children of Papua Receive TSE Group Scholarships

Please enter an Access Token