New Record in Peparnas Papua – The Athletics and Swimming branches became a field for breaking the national record at the XVI National Paralympic Week (Peparnas) in Papua which has entered its sixth day on Wednesday 10 November 2021.

From the athletics branch which took place at the Lukas Enembe Stadium, Kampung Harapan, East Sentani, Jayapura Regency, as many as five national records were re-created, both those scored by elite athletes and by those who made their first participation in the National Tournament.

Elite athletes are those who have competed in international sport events, while debutant are athletes who are participating in Peparnas for the first time.

One of them is Mustopa, a wheelchair racer debutant in West Java who broke the men’s 100 meter T54 national record with a time of 16.67 seconds, which surpassed Agus Suprayitno’s national record of East Kalimantan with a time of 17.80 seconds at the 2016 Peparnas in West Java.

Still from his debut, the runner from Central Java, Slamet Wahyu Jati, broke the national record in the men’s 1500 meters T11-13 with a time of 4 minutes 36.35 seconds, surpassing the national record of Agustinus Tinabila from South Sumatra with a time record of 4 minutes 51.93 seconds at the 2016 Peparnas.

Third, Eko Saputra from the men’s 100 meters T12 number from North Sumatra with a time of 11.28 seconds beat the record at Peparnas 2012 in Riau which was also set by Harjono Tarihoran from North Sumatra, which was 12.06 seconds.

The fourth record was broken by an elite athlete, namely wheelchair athlete Jaenal Aripin in the men’s 100 meters T54 with a time record  of 14.76 seconds or exceeding the record he set at the 2016 Peparnas with a time of 15.51 seconds.

“The target was to improve personal time (PB), but it couldn’t. Yes, maybe in the next event,” said Jaenal.

Jaenal recorded his best time when appearing at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics at the same number, which was 14.44 seconds.

The national record-breaking was also created by the host sprinter Zeth Karawi Baransano breaking the men’s 100-meter T36 record with a time of 12.32 seconds, surpassing the previous national record set by M Agung Laksana with a time of 12.58 seconds at the 2016 Peparnas.

Until the third day of the paralympic athletics, there have been at least 14 national record-breaking.

Meanwhile, from the swimming event taking place at the Kampung Harapan Aquatic Arena, Jayapura Regency, no less than 21 national records were broken and six of them occurred on the third day of the swimming competition on Wednesday (10/11/2021).

“The existence of a national record-breaking at Peparnas this time is proof of the athletes’ readiness to face this event. Every province is very serious in practicing so that these national records are created,” explained the 2021 Peparnas Swimming Technical Delegate (TD), Dimin.

Mutiara Cantik Harsanto became the first swimmer to break the national record on the third day when she competed in the women’s 200 meter freestyle S9.

The athlete from East Java finished ahead by recording a time of 2 minutes 54.49 seconds or better than Wahdina’s time at Peparnas Solo in 2015 which was 3 minutes 22.19 seconds.

Related posts

A Youtefa Bay, a Papua’s Mainstay Tourism Destination


Dr. Socrates S. Yoman: Twisted Reality


Sharing Education and Knowledge on Kangkung and Chili Cultivation in Papua


Supposed Extinct 140 Years Ago, This Bird Found Again in Papua


Keep Building, Papua


Utilizing Biomass from Wood, 50% of Electricity in Merauke is Eco- Friendly

Please enter an Access Token